17 March 2023 - 7:30 pm

Birmingham Philharmonic Chamber Ensemble – Bromsgrove Concerts

Routh Hall, Bromsgrove School, B61 7DU

The musicians of the Birmingham Philharmonic Orchestra return to perform three works that represent the very best of the chamber music repertoire, but on a slightly larger scale than we are used to. We start with the idyllic setting that is Appalachian Spring, by Copland, and finish with a work of symphonic proportions by Richard Strauss, passing through France with Saint Saens’ glorious Septet for trumpet, piano and strings. Strauss’s Happy Workshop celebrates recovery from illness, appropriate for these times!


  • Saint-Saens: Septet in E Flat Op 65
  • Copland: Appalachian Spring (original chamber version)
  • Richard Strauss: Symphony for Wind Instruments ‘The Happy Workshop’

Book online via Bromsgrove School